MiddleFinger
01-21-2007, 07:23 AM
I recieved this email yesterday from Paypal (lol). I may have even fell for it if I had a PayPal account. So, when I woke up this morning at 4:30 for no apparent reason I decided to see what info they asked for.
At first, everything looked pretty legit, but knowing I had no paypal account, I decided to investigate. I first researched the various paypal phishes that have been reported, but was unable to find anything regarding the one I received.
http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/9373/paypal014fd.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
When I followed the "click here to verify" link it took me to the next page that Firefox had flagged as a phishing site.
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/4148/paypal027by.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
I then ignored the warning, and proceeded to enter a bogus email and password. And no, there is not a "getalifebitch.com" It did, however, let me proceed to the next page.
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/3628/paypal033jl.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
The next page is where they screw you...or try to at least. I, obviously, filled this page out with some bullshit as well.
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/1798/paypal042tf.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
after spending the time filling out this page, I submitted the info. Apparently, it was wrong because it took me to this page.
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/7879/paypal052in.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
This is the "real" paypal site. Notice the different URL's in the address bar from the first 4 img's...
I know alot of you use paypal here, so watch out for this new Phish.
At first, everything looked pretty legit, but knowing I had no paypal account, I decided to investigate. I first researched the various paypal phishes that have been reported, but was unable to find anything regarding the one I received.
http://img207.imageshack.us/img207/9373/paypal014fd.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
When I followed the "click here to verify" link it took me to the next page that Firefox had flagged as a phishing site.
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/4148/paypal027by.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
I then ignored the warning, and proceeded to enter a bogus email and password. And no, there is not a "getalifebitch.com" It did, however, let me proceed to the next page.
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/3628/paypal033jl.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
The next page is where they screw you...or try to at least. I, obviously, filled this page out with some bullshit as well.
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/1798/paypal042tf.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
after spending the time filling out this page, I submitted the info. Apparently, it was wrong because it took me to this page.
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/7879/paypal052in.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
This is the "real" paypal site. Notice the different URL's in the address bar from the first 4 img's...
I know alot of you use paypal here, so watch out for this new Phish.